Keeping It Simple

20130315-201131.jpg

Hey Everyone,

Simplicity is Key…I learned this last year November. Let me explain.

In the past, I was a product junkie. By this, I mean that I bought and used every single product, recommended by other naturals…that I could lay my hands on. I cannot even begin to count how much I have spent since my decision to love my kinky hair. I can say that this had its pros because if I didn’t experiment with those products, I wouldn’t have learned what works best for me.

I have used Aloe Vera juice, jojoba oil, castor oil, olive oil, Shea Butter, various leave-in conditioners for moisturizing my hair…all at the same time #yikes! My hair still was not manageable as it would get dry. I did this because others did and it never worked. All it did was leave wet marks on my pillow case and my office chair! #Yikes.

I even tried the L.O.C method of moisturizing my hair because I saw it on YouTube. It means Liquid (water), Oil and Cream…that did not work for me. I wondered what the problem was and finally realized. It was using oil! My hair hates detests oil. Oil is my hair’s worst enemy. I cannot emphasize that enough. While some people can wash their hair and apply oil to their hair and expect it to be moisturized, my hair turns to crackers #crunchy.

Now my routine is simpler! After washing, all I use is any of my favorite leave-in conditioners and raw Shea Butter #TeamSheaButter. However, to contradict myself, I want to let you know that my hair only tolerates oil if it is mixed with Shea Butter…mixed by hands of gold. I believe it must be mixed by someone who knows what the heck they are doing. I have tried to mix oils with my Shea Butter before but my hair hated it. There is one Shea Butter mixture that I use whenever I can find it. I buy it from a salon and its so good. I will share this with you soon when I can find and buy it again. All I can say to Oil is…”Do you hate me or not?!”

Now that my moisturizing routine is simpler, my hair is happier and so am I. Hope this helped.

Always me,
Sandeey

Leave a Reply

