When I Knew Nothing

Good day World!
I just remembered my relaxer days. Was talking to my sister and we laughed over an incident that occurred when we both had relaxed hair.

It all began on a dusty, dry, sunny day. By now, those of you in Nigeria know I’m talking about Harmattan. We all know what effect dry weather has on our hair when left unprotected and without proper moisture. Well what my sister and I knew back then was that whenever dry season came, the floor welcomed our shed hair. Combing was like being in a horror movie, specifically Nightmare on Elm Street part 100…The Shedding #shudder. It was as if Freddy Krueger were using his famous hands to comb our hair:

20130320-203450.jpg #Freddy

Or was it Edward ScissorHand?:

20130320-203554.jpg #Eddy

Anyway, what I’m trying to explain is that whenever we ran combs through our hair, our hair would break…and our hearts as well. One day we were so desperate that we saw a deep conditioner…I do not remember the name but I remember it containing carrot oil. We began using it as a hair moisturizer. We would frantically rub it on while laughing because we were terrified of the damage the weather caused and what would become of our hair if we didn’t rub the conditioner. It was a ‘to heck with the instructions of this deep conditioner, something better work’ situation. Well guess what? It didn’t work!

If only I knew then, what I know now! During dry season, the trick is to keep hair protected #ProtectiveStyling and moisturize properly. That’s all! Now, whenever Harmattan rears its ugly Freddy Krueger hands, I show it that I have enough knowledge about MY hair to keep it protected.

20130320-203735.jpg #Protected

Bye bye Freddy and take your friend Eddy with you!

Always me,
Sandeey

Leave a Reply

