The Search for a New Regimen

Hello Everyone,

Remember how I told you I was going to get the dreaded trim? Well guess what? I didn’t. After getting good advice from a faithful reader, I decided to change up my regimen instead. This is what I did…

On Friday night, which I spent indoors, I began my search for a new hair regimen. I spayed water on my hair and then, I saturated my hair with Almond Oil… A lot. Why Almond Oil? I don’t know. I saw it at the store and bought it. Well after that, I tied my hair into a bun and double scarfed it. Why the double scarf? So the oil wouldn’t ruin my pillow! The reason I saturated my hair with oil was that I have noticed shampoo strips my hair of the little oil it has so putting it before hand would allow me retain some…I think. Forget about what I said about my hair hating oil…I had to try.

Well on Saturday morning, I washed and deep conditioned my hair. Then…

20130406-121439.jpg #LesThings

I whipped some Shea Butter with some Almond Oil as you can see above. I love the creamy texture of the Shea Butter. As usual, I twisted my hair in sections and sprayed water on sections that had dried. For each twist, I used my leave-in conditioner then the whipped Shea Butter. I concentrated on the ends of my hair to determine why the ends had been frizzy (maybe I haven’t been protecting it enough). When I was done, I noticed a big difference…very big and gooood difference. See for yourselves!

20130406-122254.jpg #SuperSheen

I was so excited. I don’t know when last my hair was this ‘sheeny’. My ends looked better than ever as well!

I will definitely be letting you all know the result. Hope I helped 🙂

Always me,
Sandeey

7 thoughts on “The Search for a New Regimen

  1. Sqweeee!! I’m excited for you my lady 😀
    Re shampoo stripping your hair: do you use those that contain sulphates? Sulphates strip your hair of everything hence the need for conditiong (to restor moisture oil and proteins in scases) afterwards. I’ve tried almost all shampoos out there (read product junky haha, well former product junky) and I’ve resorted to using our raw African black soap. That thing is the bizniz! I kid you not! 🙂 leaves my hair baby soft, that I wanno wear a wash and go w/out conditioner everytime (my length’s no where near yours so I can still get away with that 😀 ). Maybe try sans sulphate poos if you aren’t already (I haven’t found any store-bought ones that don’t leave my hair dry btw) or try some black soap from Mama Africa and see how your hair likes it? You may not need to do your oil treatment as often 😉

    Good luck with your next style, I’m excited to see how it turns out 😀 and I’m loving your curly ends, the look soo soft!

    1. Thank you thank you thank you! You really have good advice which works for me. I have tried the black soap and its wonderful but does nothing good for my scalp condition. I’m yet to post something about it. I recently got a shampoo to treat my scalp but it leaves my hair so dry! With the oil pre-poo, my hair felt better. I will do a review on the product soon. Unfortunately I cannot use shampoos without sulphates because my scalp needs d strength of the sulphates!

      U mentioned something about posting videos before…believe me I’ve tried but I’m no video person. Epic fails! Lol

      Thanks once again. Waiting for your write up!

  2. I’m glad they helped 🙂

    May I ask what scalp condition you are treating? Pardon me if you’ve mentioned it before and I missed it. I’m not sure sulfates help as they are the main culprits for both skin/scalp and hair dryness, hence why most beauty companies are making sulfate free lines. Maybe other ingredients in your shampoo are responsible for the relief/results you get and not the sulfates? And how long are you willing to compromise hair health for scalp relief? Of course both are important and I’m sure with a lil tweaking you can have both healthy hair and scalp. Anyways, I’ve got really dry scalp and I find that oiling (I currently use castor oil) my scalp after washing my hair helps. However, if what you are doing works for you and you are happy with it, by all means stick with it 😉

    Re videos: don’t stop trying, no body got it perfect the first (few) time(s) :D. I’m sure it’s not as bad as you think, let’s be the judge 😉 also, feedback from viewers can be helpful. Above all, do YOU. If you’re not comfy making videos then stick with your writing. I love the blog as is, successes, failures, frustrations and all 😀

    Aha write up? Am I supposed to do one? 😕

    1. Hi

      I haven’t mentioned it yet. It’s Seborrheic dermatitis and I have not seen the shampoo for it that doesn’t contain sulphates! 😦 the medicinal ingredient in my shampoo to contain the ‘wahala’ is Selenium Sulfide. It’s been helping so I need to continue.

      Oiling my scalp is a nightmare! It itches like crazy when I do that. I’ve tried coconut oil, olive oil, jojoba oil, Castro oil, tea tree oil, etc. nothing works. Using that shampoo is the best thing that’s happened to me so I’d rather have my scalp in control and figure out how to keep oil in my hair after shampooing. So the oil pre-poo is good for now.

      As for the videos I think I’ll stick to writing. I’ve laughed my A off at the attempts.

      Yes I’m waiting for your write up! Lol. Now you know. With pics too 🙂

      Thanks so much for your contributions!!

  3. awww Sandra!! 😳 What’d you like me to write about? 💡
    It might take me a lil while (say a week/two) to send you something with pics cuz my camera’s broken …and I’m too chicken to put myself out there 😯 you’re brave! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

