The Adventures of NSA and HAIR!

20130414-093849.jpg

Hey there Sandeey’s readers, this is Nsa alias NerdyNella (when I comment on the blog via mobile). I feel honored to write a post for Sandeey’s blog today 🙂 and I hope it inspires/helps someone out there. I’ll try to keep it as simple as Sandeey does.

First off, I’m not a blogger, I’m not good in writing and I’m VERY incoherent 😕 so I apologize for any bloopers beforehand.

I’ve been ‘natural’ for a little over 14 months and loving it :D. I did not ‘go natural’ because my relaxed hair was ‘unhealthy’ or anything.

20130414-094011.jpg

20130414-094032.jpg #RelaxedDays

I’ve been on this journey of self discovery and acceptance for the past couple of years, and accepting and loving my hair the way it was created by God has been part of that. I remembered how beautiful and soft my hair was before I got a relaxer in my first year of Senior Secondary School (SS1) and longed for that look and feel again. My parents did not let me get a relaxer before SS1, and I wanted to look as ‘cool’ as everyone else, so I told a lie. I told mum dad said I could get a relaxer and hoped that dad wont get mad when he saw my relaxed hair. I did get a relaxer and dad didn’t get mad, so the relaxer process continued for about 14 years afterwards until I decided to chop it all off.

20130414-093257.jpg #BC

After the big chop (BC) I had no clue what to do with my hair. My mama took care of my natural hair when I was younger. Oh how I dreaded weekends back then. Mama usually put my hair in cornrows or pigtails on Sundays (I loved pigtails! Easier to undo :mrgreen:) and I would have to take them down on Fridays in preparation for washing the next day. My mama, God bless her, did not know to NOT comb my hair when it was dry 8-O. Although she was very gentle, it hurt and I hated the process (another reason why I wanted a relaxer so much). Who knew, back then, to only comb while hair was still wet? We would wait for the hair to air-dry before oiling and plaiting, we believed that adding any oils to the hair while wet caused dandruff…

Fast forward to my BC, I started doing a lot of research on African hair care, learning different techniques, trying out different products etc. The first 8 months were awesome (I was intrigued by my hair and haircare was easy), I only did ‘wash n gos’, literally, until I noticed I could get my hair in twists and started playing with those too. Fast forward again to now, I’m still learning about how to care for my hair, as techniques change with length and volume. To be honest, sometimes it gets frustrating when my hair won’t cooperate, this usually happens when I try to follow a regimen/copy a style that’s worked for someone else. Each person’s hair’s unique and what may work for one with a texture similar to yours may not work for you and what may work for your hair at a shorter length may not work at a longer length and I’ve recently noticed that what may work for your current length at one location/during one season may not work at a different location/season (think water hardness, humidity etc). Despite the frustrations here and there, I’m still intrigued by and loving my hair and not thinking of going back to chemically altering it for ‘easy care’. If you are thinking to stop chemically processing your hair, I’d say go for it. You’ve got nothing to lose, you can always go back to chemical processing if you want to 🙂

20130414-093531.jpg #MyNachyHair

Below are my current regimen and products I currently use for anyone who’s interested:

20130414-084257.jpg #Products

– My hair’s at that awkward stage hehe where it’s neither short nor long, it’s just there 🙄
– At least once a week, I wash with African black soap, then condition and de-tangle in sections with Tresemme naturals conditioner. I twist each section up after de-tangling, rinse out conditioner (with twists still in) and follow with an apple cider vinegar (1 tbs to 1 glass of water) rinse.
– After washing, I undo each twist, apply my Natty moist leave-in, followed by raw African shea butter, detangle and style (usually medium twists for a twist out after leaving the twists in for a day or two) or re-twist each section to stretch hair out for styling later (when it’s almost dry). I apply castor oil to my scalp and edges afterwards.
– Once or twice (if I’m feeling very enthusiastic hehe) a month, I deep condition with rhassoul clay. I used to use the rhassoul clay deep conditioner by All things O’natural till I ran out and decided to make mine. I’ve tried mixing the clay with water, shea butter and honey and it worked really well. I’ll be trying it with shikakai and aloe vera juice next.

20130414-084411.jpg #Shikakai

Thanks Sandeey! 😀

Sandeey: You’re welcome. Thank you so much for doing this!

Nsa has been giving me so much good advice and I’m sure you can all see why. Her hair rocks! She sure knows what she is doing! Good luck to her on her beautiful hair journey!

Always me,
Sandeey Nsa

One thought on “The Adventures of NSA and HAIR!

  1. struggling with dry hair right now after abandoning it for months to finish up my thesis. I decided to come back here to see what I’d been doing right in the past 🙂 Hopefully my hair will still love this regimen

    Miss you Sandy! Would love to know how you and your hair are doing
    xx

Leave a Reply

